IPL 2020: UAE to host tournament from September 19 to November 10 | ESPNcricinfo.com

IPL 2020: UAE to host tournament from September 19 to November 10 | ESPNcricinfo.com

IPL 2020 will take place in the UAE from September 19 to November 10, pending clearances from the Indian government. During its meeting on Sunday, the IPL governing council decided to set a 24-player limit for each squad, and approved the use of Covid-19 substitutes. There will be ten double-header days in the tournament schedule, which will be played across Dubai, Abu Dhabi, and Sharjah. The night matches will begin at 7.30pm IST (6.00pm UAE time), and afternoon matches at 3.30pm IST (2.00pm UAE time). This window makes IPL 2020 a 53-day event, three days longer than the last two editions, and the longest for an eight-team edition in the tournament's history. A franchise told ESPNcricinfo that detailed fixtures will be sent to them on Monday, and that the first leg of the tournament will be played behind closed doors. The Emirates board, earlier this week, had shown a keenness to have the stadiums at 30-50% capacity. In the lead up to the meeting, it was understood that the date for the final was a toss-up between November 8 and November 10. With the latter being picked, the IPL will, for the first time, have the final on a weekday - Tuesday. A BCCI release said the Women's T20 Challenge would also take place alongside the IPL, featuring three teams playing four matches during the final week of the tournament. The release added that the governing council would finalise and publish its standard operating procedures (SOPs) "in due course, including ...
More on: www.espncricinfo.com